Shadow Puppets on Martha Stewart

We loved our time on the Martha Stewart show!  Meredith taught Martha how to make a polar bear shadow puppet, while she made a muskox.

Watch the video:

Meredith in rehearsal

Meredith in rehearsal

Mer might have been a little nervous, but rehearsal went well, and all the staff at the show was friendly and helpful.

Ewan and Robin in the audience - the cheering section

Ewan and Robin in the audience - the cheering section

When it was time for the taping to begin, Ewan (Mer’s husband) and I sat in the front row while Meredith waited in the green room.  Because of an upcoming “doggie fashion show” segment, Martha’s two french bulldogs were on the set.  One was acting nervous and shakey.  At the first commercial break,  a harried producer dropped him in Ewan’s lap, saying, “You’re not allergic, are you?  Maybe he’ll be less nervous sitting closer to Martha.”  Stunned, Ewan took the dog and expertly soothed him.  He later informed the producer that Sharkey was in good hands, as he’s a second-year veterinarian student.  Martha laughed and waved when she saw Sharkey on Ewan’s lap.

Martha taking questions after the show

Martha taking questions after the show

The puppet-making segment opened with Martha playing with the polar bear puppet, which she seemed to really get a kick out of.  Meredith hadn’t met Martha until they actually began taping the segment.  Mer had about 6 minutes to make a shadow puppet and be “as high energy as if you drank 10 cups of coffee”.  While that’s not her normal personality, we thought she did great.  There was even enough time at the end of the segment for Mer to give Martha a set of shadow puppets of Martha’s 3 dogs.

After it was over, a photographer took a picture of Mer and Martha together, and then I was invited to join them in a photo.  Martha looked over at me and smiled and said, “Well that went well, didn’t it?”.  I couldn’t agree more.

statueofliberty

Robin and Meredith brave bitter cold winds on the Staten Island Ferry to see the Statue of Liberty

Meredith on NBC15 in Madison

10 responses to “Shadow Puppets on Martha Stewart

  1. Elizabeth Yeno

    I just watched you an Martha Stewart and I love your product. Its nice to see a toy for kids that doesn’t involve a video game. It is a simple yet wonderful toy, that I think all kids will love. I hope I win so I can give them to my Grandson Caelan, and my Granddaughter Sienna. Thanks for bringing me back to basics.

  2. I saw Meredith on Martha Stewart this morning and thought “what a great idea” . I am hoping to be substitute teaching K-6 and thought what a great way to get to know the kids and hopfully make a good impression on them. It’s always nice to be to “cool” teacher and unfortunately I may only have a day or two with them but I would like to be able to leave a small imprint on their lives.

  3. I just saw you on Martha Stewart and would like to enter your giveaway. Thanks. CArol Childress

  4. I am always looking for fun and eco friendly toys for my grandchildren.
    I also want toys that will educate as well as being fun for them. I believe these shadow puppets fill all the requirements I want for “my babies”

    Thank you

  5. Today I viewed your craft presentation on Martha. I live in Brisbane, Australia. Congratulations on bringing back simple, entertaining crafts for children and adults alike. I consider your creation similar to story books. The reader (presenter) can develop story lines with the audience and use this as an entertaining learning tool. So many applications.
    Having some ‘regular’ shapres like boys and girls, houses and cars, would also enable some positive ‘real’ discussions.
    Well done.

  6. Hi,

    I am watching you make the puppets as I write. I came online to check out your website and was fortunate enough to find your truly great blog!

    What a truly exceptional and innovative craft – a tremendous contribution to the preservation of wildlife if not animal life!

    I am hoping to show the RSPCA here in Australia with the hope of them using your animal puppets to campaign against animal cruelty in favour of animal welfare amongst the public!

    All the very best and I’m glad you enjoyed Martha Stewart!

    Cheers from Down Under,
    Janey

  7. Saw you on the Martha Stewart show…….very cute puppets!!

  8. I saw these on Martha Stewart and thought these would be awesome for our church puppet theater we’re getting setting up soon. These are an awesome idea.

  9. Kelly Kliefoth

    I read an article about you appearing on the Martha Stewart show in the Janesville Gazette online today, so I had to check out your website, and of course see your presentation on Martha Stewart. You were great, Meredith! I love the idea of using these puppets to create your own stories. What a great opportunity to learn about history and science, as well. I will definitely be looking into getting a collection or two for our daughter to play with when she is older. 🙂

  10. Wow! Congrats! That must have been amazing.

Leave a Reply

