Thank You

I’m sad to say that I’ve decided to put puppet making on the back burner for the time being.  The new CPSIA regulations have made it virtually impossible for me to continue selling our shadow puppets at a reasonable price.  Thank you so much to all of our customers and fans who’ve supported our toy making habit so far.  I intend to keep this space so that I can share toys and crafts as I make them for my little Cricket, who was born this spring.  Thanks again and I hope to be back here soon!

8 responses to “Thank You

  1. Would it be possible for you to sell them for adults? They are beautiful, no matter your age!!

  2. Sadly it’s not up to the manufacturer to set the age designation for products as far as product testing goes – the CPSC has age guidelines to avoid the loophole of companies making baby products and claiming they’re for adults. This is a good thing, but it means that unless I drastically change my product line and make only “art” puppets that are more complicated and clearly intended for adults, I would not be in compliance with the new regulations.

  3. Hello! I’ve just left you a message on Etsy but thought I should write to you here to ask you to read it. It’s regarding a shadow puppetry presentation locally during the summer of 2011. I’d be grateful to hear from you!

  4. Hi Meredith. I’m not sure if you’re back selling the puppets yet, please let me know if you are. If not though do you have any tips for me ? My kids would love shadow puppets. They are 6 years, 4 years and my youngest just turned 1. I didn’t even think about shadow puppets for them. Now I have the crafty itch, thanks to you and finding comment on stumble upon.

    I wish you all the best, thanks for helping me find yet another way to entertain the kids 🙂

    Melissa

  5. Meredith, you are so amazingly talented! I *LOVE* the Thai Legends Shadow Puppet set and would love to order 2 of these sets in black if you are still selling them. I really hope you will start up your business again ~ these sets are too cute! Thanks! 🙂

  6. What are these regulations? can you explain them?
    DAN MCGUIRE

  7. Hi Dan. Check out the Wikipedia article about the CPSIA here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Consumer_Product_Safety_Improvement_Act . It has a pretty comprehensive overview of the law and it’s consequences for small businesses. The short version is this: micro businesses don’t have the funds to comply with independent testing and labeling of constantly changing materials in short production runs. We use materials we know to be safe and that we are willing to give to our own children, and would happily comply with any regulations that are financially feasible. Thankfully, several materials have been added to the list of materials that are exempt from testing requirements (unaltered wood, paper, beeswax etc) and we may now be able to redesign our products and get back into business.

  8. Ellen Berrahmoun

    Hi Meredith,

    I’m so sorry to belatedly read about the closing of your online shadow puppet business – the designs are awesome!!!

    I’m an elementary art teacher and I love making shadow puppets with students.

    I wondered if you could give me tips on the exact size (and hopefully any bulk order info) for the alligator clips you used in your stick controls. Along with the Velcro tab (I watched the Martha Stewart clip!) ,this is definitely less cumbersome and more sturdy than other methods. I work with many children, and the cost of small packets of those alligator clips is prohibitive.

    Any specific tips on size, order info, where to get the alligator clips in bulk more cheaply would be GREATLY appreciated!

    All the best in your continuing creative endeavors,

    Ellen B.

Leave a Reply

